BMBF-junior research group

 

ASCRIBE

Initial situation and project objective

Influenza viruses of genera A and B usually cause uncomplicated febrile infections of the upper respiratory tract with respiratory symptoms in healthy individuals. In the case of severe courses, however, complications can occur, such as the development of primary influenza pneumonia or secondary bacterial infections, which can lead to the death of the patient. On average, about 1000 people die of influenza infection in Germany each year.

In Germany, two drug classes are approved for the treatment of influenza: M2 ion channel blockers and neuraminidase inhibitors. However, the great genetic flexibility of the viruses means that there is a risk of rapid development of resistance. Because of the high prevalence of resistance in currently circulating influenza viruses, M2 ion channel blockers are no longer recommended for antiviral treatment. Neuraminidase inhibitors are therefore used almost exclusively. But even for this class of drugs, numerous cases of resistance have already been described. In 2009, over 90% of seasonally circulating H1N1 influenza viruses were resistant to oseltamivir. In addition to rising resistance, the emergence of a novel pandemic virus also poses a major threat.

Solution and customer benefits

The long-term goal of the project is therefore to make a far-reaching contribution to the development of novel agents for the treatment of influenza infections.

The long-term goal of the project is therefore to make a far-reaching contribution to the development of novel agents for the treatment of influenza infections. To identify novel compounds, we analyze antimicrobial peptides, toxins and microbial extracts from the IME-BR strain collection by screening assays. Identified leads will be evaluated for their antiviral efficiency against different influenza subtypes in both immortalized cell lines and a primary lung cell model. In addition, the resistance profile of the leads as well as the efficacy in a combination therapy are investigated. Besides, the toxicity of the compounds will be determined first in cell culture models and, for promising compounds, in a Galleria mellonella model. Finally, the most effective compound will be investigated about its toxicity, pharmacokinetic properties and its effect in an infection model in laboratory mice.

Project profile

PROJECT TITLE Screening bioresources to identify novel antiviral agents for the treatment of influenza infections - ASCRIBE.
DURATION 10/2020 –09/2025
FUNDING PROGRAM BMBF program for the funding of junior research groups in infection research
FUNDING VOLUME 3.206.707,00 €

COOPERATION PARTNERS

Prof. Dr. Eva Friebertshäuser, Institute of Virology, Philipps University Marburg

Prof. Dr. Torsten Steinmetzer, Institute for Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Philipps University Marburg

PROJECT LEADER

Dr. Kornelia Hardes

GOALS
  • Identification of novel compounds to inhibit the replication of influenza A and B viruses.
  • Determination of the toxicity of the compounds in vitro and with the most efficient compounds in vivo
  • Testing of lead structures against the arboviruses Semliki-Forest and Chikungunya Virus
  • Determination of the resistance profile

Contact

Dr. Kornelia Hardes

Deputy Head of Department Pests and vector insect control

Fraunhofer Institute for Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology IME
Ohlebergsweg 12
35392 Gießen

+49 641 972-19226

kornelia.hardes@ime.fraunhofer.de

en_GBEnglish

BMBF-Nachwuchsgruppe

 

ASCRIBE

Forschungsmotivation und Problemstellung

Influenzaviren der Gattungen A und B verursachen bei Gesunden in der Regel unkomplizierte fieberhafte Infekte der oberen Atemwege mit respiratorischen Beschwerden. Im Fall von schwerwiegenden Verläufen kann es jedoch zu Komplikationen kommen, wie der Ausbildung einer primären Influenzapneumonie oder bakteriellen Sekundärinfektionen, die zum Tod des Patienten führen können. Durchschnittlich sterben in Deutschland jedes Jahr etwa 1000 Menschen an einer Influenzainfektion.

In Deutschland sind mit M2-Ionenkanalblockern und Neuraminidaseinhibitoren zwei Wirkstoffklassen zur Therapie der Grippe zugelassen. Die große genetische Flexibilität der Viren bedingt jedoch die Gefahr einer schnellen Resistenzentwicklung. Aufgrund der hohen Prävalenz von Resistenzen bei den aktuell zirkulierenden Influenzaviren werden M2-Ionenkanalblocker jedoch nicht mehr für die antivirale Behandlung empfohlen. Zur Anwendung kommen daher fast ausschließlich Neuraminidaseinhibitoren. Doch auch für diese Wirkstoffklasse wurden bereits zahlreiche Resistenzen beschrieben. 2009 waren über 90% der saisonal zirkulierenden H1N1-Influenzaviren resistent gegenüber Oseltamivir. Neben den auftretenden Resistenzen stellt auch die Entstehung eines neuartigen pandemischen Virus eine große Bedrohung dar.

Projektziel und Lösungsansatz

Das langfristige Ziel des Projektes ist es daher einen weitreichenden Beitrag zur Entwicklung neuartiger Wirkstoffe zur Behandlung von Influenza-Infektionen zu leisten.

Zur Identifizierung neuartiger Wirkstoffe analysieren wir antimikrobielle Peptide, Toxine und mikrobielle Extrakte aus der Stammsammlung des IME-BR mittels Screeningassays. Identifizierte Leitstrukturen werden auf ihre antivirale Effizienz gegen unterschiedliche Influenzasubtypen sowohl in immortalisierten Zelllinien als auch in einem Modell mit primären Lungenzellen untersucht. Zusätzlich wird das Resistenzprofil der Leitstrukturen sowie die Effektivität in einer Kombinationstherapie untersucht. Daneben wird die Toxizität der Verbindungen zunächst in Zellkulturmodellen und bei vielversprechenden Verbindungen in einem Galleria mellonella Modell bestimmt. Die wirksamste Verbindung soll abschließend hinsichtlich ihrer Toxizität, pharmakokinetischen Eigenschaften und ihren Effekt in einem Infektionsmodell in Mäusen untersucht werden.

Projektsteckbrief

Projekttitel Screening von Bioressourcen zur Identifizierung neuer antiviraler Substanzen zur Behandlung von Influenza-Infektionen – ASCRIBE
Laufzeit 10/2020 –09/2025
Förderung BMBF-Programm zur Förderung von Nachwuchsgruppen in der Infektionsforschung
Fördervolumen 3.206.707,00 €

Kooperationspartner

Prof. Dr. Eva Friebertshäuser, Institut für Virologie, Philipps-Universität Marburg

Prof. Dr. Torsten Steinmetzer, Institut für Pharmazeutische Chemie, Philipps-Universität Marburg

Projektleiter

Dr. Kornelia Hardes

Ziele
  • Identifizierung neuartiger Verbindungen zur Hemmung der Vermehrung von Influenza A und B Viren
  • Bestimmung der Toxizität der Verbindungen in vitro und mit den effizientesten Verbindungen in vivo
  • Testung der Leitstrukturen gegen die Arboviren Semliki-Forest und Chikungunya Virus.
  • Bestimmung des Resistenzprofils

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Kornelia Hardes

Stellv. Abteilungsleiterin Schad- und Vektor- Insektenkontrolle

Fraunhofer-Institut für Molekularbiologie und Angewandte Oekologie IME
Ohlebergsweg 12
35392 Gießen

+49 641 972-19226

kornelia.hardes@ime.fraunhofer.de

de_DEGerman