LOEWE Center for
Insect Biotechnology
& Bioresources

Welcome

Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas

“Insects are the most successful organisms on earth in terms of their diversity and adaptability. I am convinced that the biodiversity among insect species is also mirrored at the molecular level. What this means for us is that insects represent a vast and diverse resource of active substances and we should now focus our work on the discovery and characterization of these new substances and their sustainable use for the benefit of humanity.“

News

2
Jun

19
May

Joint forces on carcasses

Cooperation of burying beetles and their microbiota

more news

Joint forces on carcasses: Cooperation of burying beetles and their microbiota

A team of researchers from the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology, the Fraunhofer Institute for Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology, the University of Giessen and the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz has studied the role of the burying beetle (Nicrophorus vespilloides) and its microbiota in carrion digestion and chemical preservation during breeding.

MP Bouffier at ZIB

Volker Bouffier appreciated the interdisciplinary adjustment in the LOEWE ZIB in his visit visit and got informed about the current research as well as about the situation to the institute new building of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft with planned groundbreaking in 2016 and move-in in 2018.

Acknowledgement: JLU-Press Office/Rolf Wegst

Biodiversa

biodiversa-Project: A network of national research funding organizations supporting European-wide projects in order to generate new knowledge for the protection and sustainable management of biodiversity.

What is yellow biotechnology?

Yellow biotechnology (insect biotechnology) is the use of biotechnology to develop useful applications for whole insects as well as their organs, cells, molecules and symbiotic microbes, in the fields of medicine (red biotechnology), plant protection (green biotechnology) and industry (white biotechnology). The term yellow biotechnology was chosen because it is reminiscent of the yellow color of insect hemolymph, which has thus far yielded a number of useful and valuable chemicals, proteins and microbes.

LOEWE Zentrum für
Insektenbiotechnologie
& Bioressourcen

Willkommen

Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas

"Die Insekten gelten als die erfolgreichste Tier- oder Organismengruppe auf der Erde. Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass diese Biodiversität, die man auf der Artebene sieht, sich auch auf der Molekülebene widerspiegelt. Das heißt, sie sind eigentlich ein riesengroßer Wirkstoffschrank, und es geht nun darum, gezielt diese neuen Wirkstoffe zu entdecken und für die Menschheit nutzbar zu machen."

News

17
Nov

Spatenstich für den Fraunhofer-Neubau

Bau des neuen Forschungsgebäudes für Bioressourcen in Gießen hat begonnen

11
Nov

Hochschultagung 2016

"Insektenbiotechnologie – Innovative Impulse für die Agrar-, Ernährungs- und Umweltwissenschaften" lautet das Motto der diesjährigen Hochschultagung des Fachbereichs 09, die am 11. November in der Aula des Unihauptgebäudes stattfindet.

23
Sep

PUBLIKATION in: Genome Biology

Genom des bedeutendsten Agrarschädlings entschlüsselt: The whole genome sequence of the Mediterranean fruit fly, Ceratitis capitata (Wiedemann), reveals insights into the biology and adaptive evolution of a highly invasive pest species

more news

„Triple-In“ am 01.06.2015 gestartet

Das Verbundprojekt »Insect-derived anti-Infectives from Indonesia« (»Triple-In«), das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) finanzierte Verbundprojekt mit dem Ziel der Identifikation und Nutzung von Naturstoffen in Indonesien, zur Bekämpfung von Infektionen, wurde gestartet.

MP Bouffier am ZIB

Volker Bouffier würdigte bei seinem Besuch die interdisziplinäre Ausrichtung im Loewe ZIB und informierte sich sowohl über die aktuelle Forschung als auch über die Situation zum Institutsneubau der Fraunhofergesellschaft mit geplantem Spatenstich in 2016 und Bezug der Räume in 2018.

Bildnachweis: JLU-Pressestelle/Rolf Wegst

Biodiversa

biodiversa-Projekt: Ein Netzwerk nationaler Forschungs-Finanzierungsorganisationen, die europaweite Projekte unterstützen, um neues Wissen zum Schutz und zum nachhaltigen Management von Biodiversität zu generieren.

Was ist Gelbe Biotechnologie?

Unter Gelber Biotechnologie (Insektenbiotechnologie) versteht man den Einsatz biotechnologischer Methoden, um Insekten bzw. von diesen stammende Moleküle, Zellen, Organe oder symbiontische Mikroorganismen für Anwendungen in der Medizin (Rote Biotechnologie), im Pflanzenschutz (Grüne Biotechnologie) oder in der Industrie (Weiße Biotechnologie) nutzbar zu machen. Gelb leitet sich hierbei von der Insektenhämolymphe ab, die in vielen Fällen eine gelbe Färbung besitzt.