LOEWE Center for
Insect Biotechnology
& Bioresources

Short portrait

Insects are evolutionarily the largest group of organisms with about 1.2 million species. Many species live in highly microbial-contaminated environments, use food or substrates that are hardly degradable or toxic to other organisms, or are pest and vector insects. Basis for the occupation of extreme ecological niches is often a unique repertoire of molecular tools, that can be used for applications in the fields of medicine (red biotechnology), plant protection (green biotechnology) and industrial biotechnology (white biotechnology).

The systematic development of new products and services based on insects (Insect Biotechnology or Yellow Biotechnology) is followed only since recently. The LOEWE-Centre ‘Insect Biotechnology’ is Europe's first operational unit in this highly innovative research field with tremendous growth prospects. Basis of insect biotechnology is the in-depth knowledge of the systematics and ecology of insects. After the knowledge-based selection of specialized insect species, application-relevant molecules can be identified with highly sensitive analytical methods, examined, and used for downstream applications.

So far, the group has discovered substances produced by beetles and butterflies that inhibit the growth of antibiotic-resistant bacteria, which will be further developed as new antimicrobial agents. Peptides originating from bugs and flies also proved to be useful for the control of fungi, which are responsible for significant crop losses worldwide. Salivary enzyme secretions of fly larvae have been discovered that enable the human coagulation system and can be used for wound treatment. Furthermore digestive secretions of grain pest beetles have been discovered, which are suitable for the preparation of gluten-free food products. Even insects models have been developed as an alternative to traditional animal testing for toxicity and efficacy testing of drugs. In addition, it was possible to develop new systems for environmental-friendly control of agricultural pests and mosquitoes.

Through the LOEWE program (Landes-Offensive for the Development of Scientific and Economic Excellence) the state of Hesse supports the collaborative project between the

• Justus-Liebig-University Giessen (JLU), represented by the Institute of Insect Biotechnology (Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas & Prof. Dr. Marc F. Schetelig) and the Institute of Food Chemistry and Food Biotechnology (Prof. Dr. Holger Zorn)

• the Fraunhofer Project Group Bioresources (Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas), and the

• Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen - University of Applied Sciences (THM), represented by the Institute of Bioprocess Engineering and Pharmaceutical Technology (Prof. Dr. Peter Czermak).

The most important component of the project is the construction of an independent Fraunhofer Institute in Gießen. The scientific and structural development of the LOEWE - Centre ‘Insect Biotechnology’ are mediated by the Communication Initiative ProLOEWE to professionals and most importantly also to a wide public audience.

LOEWE Zentrum für
Insektenbiotechnologie
& Bioressourcen

Kurzportrait

Insekten sind mit ca. 1,2 Millionen Arten die evolutionär erfolgreichste Organismengruppe. Viele Arten leben in mikrobiell hochbelasteten Umgebungen, nutzen schwer abbaubare und für andere Organismen giftige Substrate als Nahrung oder sind Schad- und Vektorinsekten. Grundlage für die Besetzung extremer ökologischer Nischen ist oft ein einzigartiges Repertoire an molekularen Werkzeugen, das für Anwendungen in den Bereichen Medizin (Rote Biotechnologie), Pflanzenschutz (Grüne Biotechnologie) und industrielle Biotechnologie (Weiße Biotechnologie) genutzt werden kann.

Die Entwicklung neuer Produkte und Dienstleistungen basierend auf Insekten (Insektenbiotechnologie oder Gelbe Biotechnologie) wird erst seit jüngster Zeit systematisch verfolgt. Das LOEWE-Zentrum „Insektenbiotechnologie“ ist europaweit die erste operative Einheit in diesem hochinnovativen Forschungsgebiet mit enormen Wachstumsprognosen. Grundlage der Insektenbiotechnologie sind fundierte Kenntnisse über die Systematik und Ökologie der Insekten. Nach der wissensbasierten Auswahl spezialisierter Insektenarten können anwendungsrelevante Moleküle mit hochempfindlichen Analyseverfahren identifiziert und einer Nutzung zugänglich gemacht werden.

In bisherigen Arbeiten haben die Projektpartner von Käfern und Schmetterlingen produzierte Substanzen entdeckt, die das Wachstum antibiotikaresistenter Bakterien hemmen, und daher als neue antimikrobielle Wirkstoffe weiterentwickelt werden. Aus Blattwanzen und Fliegen stammende Peptide erwiesen sich zudem als nützlich für die Bekämpfung von Pilzen, die weltweit für erhebliche Ernteverluste verantwortlich sind. Im Speichelsekret von Fliegenlarven wurden Enzyme entdeckt, die das menschliche Gerinnungssystem aktivieren und daher für die Wundbehandlung eingesetzt werden sollen. Des Weiteren wurden in den Verdauungssekreten von Käfern, die als Getreideschädling bekannt sind, Enzyme entdeckt, die sich für die Herstellung Gluten-freier Lebensmittel eignen. Auch wurden Insektenmodelle als Alternative zu klassischen Tierversuchen für Toxizitäts- und Wirksamkeitsprüfung von Arzneistoffen entwickelt. Ergänzend ist es gelungen, neue Systeme zur umweltfreundlichen Bekämpfung von Agrarschädlingen und Moskitos zu entwickeln.

Durch das LOEWE-Programm (Landes-Offensive zur Entwicklung Wissenschaftlich-ökonomischer Exzellenz) fördert das Land Hessen das Verbundprojekt zwischen der

• Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen (JLU), vertreten durch das Institut für Insektenbiotechnologie (Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas & Prof. Dr. Marc F. Schetelig) und das Institut für Lebensmittelchemie und Lebensmittelbiotechnologie (Prof. Dr. Holger Zorn),

• der Fraunhofer-Projektgruppe Bioressourcen (Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas), und der

• Technischen Hochschule Mittelhessen (THM), vertreten durch das Institut für Bioverfahrenstechnik und Pharmazeutische Technologie (Prof. Dr. Peter Czermak).

Als wichtigste Verstetigungsmaßnahme ist die dauerhafte Ansiedlung eines eigenständigen Fraunhofer-Instituts am Standort Gießen vorgesehen. Die wissenschaftliche und strukturelle Entwicklung des LOEWE-Zentrums „Insektenbiotechnologie“ wird durch die Kommunikationsinitiative ProLOEWE der Fachwelt und im Besonderen auch einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit vermittelt.