LOEWE Center for
Insect Biotechnology
& Bioresources

PhD Program

GGL

The International Giessen Graduate Centre for the Life Sciences (GGL) at Justus-Liebig University Giessen offers fully-funded tailor-made interdisciplinary doctoral programmes for young international researchers. The GGL aims to support for doctoral students and facilitate successful collaboration within their subject groups by promoting further training and the acquisition of qualifications beyond their individual fields of research. The career opportunities of our young researches are promoted by our Career Service, which cooperates with non-academic institutions such as industrial enterprises.

The GGL covers a number of diverse research topics, and those of doctoral students studying insect biotechnology are included within Research Area 7 (Bioresources and Biotechnology) which focuses on contemporary applied technologies in biochemistry, molecular and cell biology, biotechnology, drug discovery and pre-clinical research.
For further information:

http://www.uni-giessen.de/cms/fbz/zentren/ggl/

The seminar series in Applied Entomology is incorporated into the GGL study calendar and offers credit points for participation.

Bioresources and Biotechnology joint PhD Programme

The Bioresources and Biotechnology joint PhD Programme is the first joint doctoral programme developed by the University of Applied Sciences Mittelhesse (THM) and Justus-Liebig University Giessen (JLU). It offers outstanding young researchers the ability to pursue a doctoral degree and the Hessian Ministry for Science and the Arts has provided generous funding of € 450,000 over a period of five years. The programme provides 12 doctoral researchers in the fields of biotechnology, biology, food chemistry, pharmaceutical technology, biomedical technology and agricultural sciences with the opportunity to undertake a three-year PhD project. The programme awards six scholarships, two financed by the THM. Other doctoral students are funded by third parties. We also offer block courses, seminars, symposia and laboratory visits in order to incorporate our students into a cross-national academic network.

The PhD Programme emerged from three successful research collaborations between THM and JLU, which were funded under the LOEWE Programme (Landes-Offensive zur Entwicklung Wissenschaftlich-ökonomischer Exzellenz, or Regional Drive for the Development of Scientific and Economic Excellence) and encouraged collaborative work between lecturers from both universities. The key technologies developed thus far will be clustered, extended and deepened within the application-oriented research profile developed in the PhD Programme.

LOEWE Zentrum für
Insektenbiotechnologie
& Bioressourcen

Doktoranden-Programme

GGL

Das Gießner Graduiertenzentrum Lebenswissenschaften (GGL) der Justus-Liebig-Universität bietet internationalen Nachwuchsforschern in Gießen ein interdisziplinäres, präzises Graduiertenförderprogramm im Rahmen ihrer Doktorandenausbildung an. Ziele der GGL sind sowohl die Förderung und der gezielte Austausch der Doktoranden innerhalb der Fachgruppen als auch die Weiterbildung und Qualifikation der Doktoranden über ihr Themengebiet hinaus. Durch die Kooperation des GGL Career Services mit außeruniversitären Institutionen wie Industrieunternehmen werden  die Berufsaussichten des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses erhöht. 

Das Graduiertenkolleg ist in mehrere Sektionen gegliedert. Die Forschungsinhalte von Doktoranden der Insektenbiotechnologie spiegeln sich in Sektion 7 „Bioressourcen und Biotechnologie“ wider. Hier liegt der Schwerpunkt in den Bereichen der Anwendung moderner Technologien in der Biochemie, Molekular- und Zellbiologie, Biotechnologie, Erforschung neuer Arzneimittel und präklinische Forschung.

http://www.uni-giessen.de/cms/fbz/zentren/ggl/

Die Teilnahme am Seminar in der Angewandten Entomologie ist im GGL study calendar anrechenbar. 

Kooperatives Promotionskolleg „Bioressourcen und Biotechnologie“

Das Promotionskolleg „Bioressourcen und Biotechnologie“ ist das erste kooperative Promotionskolleg der Technischen Hochschule Mittelhessen (THM) und der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen (JLU). Es bietet herausragenden Nachwuchswissenschaftlern die Möglichkeit zur Promotion. Es wird vom Hessischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst mit 450.000 € über fünf Jahre gefördert. In das Kolleg werden zwölf Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der Fachrichtungen Biotechnologie, Biologie, Lebensmittelchemie, Pharmazie, Biomedizinische Technik und Agrarwissenschaft aufgenommen und in drei Jahren zur Promotion geführt. Das Promotionskolleg vergibt sechs Stipendien, zwei davon finanziert die THM. Die Finanzierung der weiteren Promovierenden erfolgt im Rahmen von Drittmittelprojekten. Durch Blockkurse, Seminare, Tagungen und Laborbesuche werden sie in ein länderübergreifendes wissenschaftliches Netzwerk eingebunden.

Das Promotionskolleg basiert auf drei erfolgreichen Forschungsverbünden der THM und JLU, welche im Rahmen der „Landes-Offensive zur Entwicklung Wissenschaftlich-ökonomischer Exzellenz“ (LOEWE) gefördert werden und in denen bereits Hochschullehrer der JLU und THM zusammen arbeiten. Die bisher entwickelten Schlüsseltechnologien werden im anwendungsorientierten Forschungskonzept des Kollegs gebündelt, erweitert und vertieft.